Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

If you or someone you know has experienced sexual assault, call 504-920-9900 to speak privately with someone 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Or, fill out our reporting form.

While support services and reporting options will still be available to all members of the Tulane community, we have made some adjustments to our operations due to COVID-19. Learn more about our service adjustments.

Wave of Change Tulane Task Force

Our Tulane University Task Force – comprising faculty experts, staff members, graduate and undergraduate students – has worked tirelessly throughout this academic year to better understand sexual violence on our campus and develop evidence-based recommendations for how we can tackle this problem together. Co-chaired by Tania Tetlow, senior vice president and chief of staff to President Fitts, and Meredith Smith, Assistant Provost for Title IX & Clery Compliance, the more than 30-member task force was brought together early last semester to review current Tulane policies and discussing new approaches to the prevention of sexual misconduct.

Four subcommittees were established to take a deeper dive into specific areas of focus:

  • Undergraduate Sexual Misconduct Prevention: Focusing on issues impacting undergraduates; programs and approaches to prevention of sexual misconduct; issues facing students of color and LGBTQ+ identifying students; and the use of alcohol as a tool of perpetrators.
    • Derick Bugg, Assistant Director of Campus Recreation
    • Sonali Chada, Affairs Office for Kappa Alpha Theta and Director of Diversity and Inclusive Excellence for the Undergraduate Student Government
    • Jamieka Greer, Director of Academic Advising for Student Athletes and Assistant Athletics Director
    • Lindsey Greeson, Class Officer Development, Reunions, Former Director of the Well
    • Dr. Brian Johnson, Assistant Vice President for Housing and Residence Life
    • Sarah Jones (’20), Resident Advisor and Community Engagement Advocate
    • Sam Levin (’18), President of the Undergraduate Student Government
    • Sergeant Patrick Martin, Tulane University Police Department
    • Dr. Smita Ruzicka, Assistant Vice President for Campus Life
    • Caroline Scott (’18), Senator for the Undergraduate Student Government, Peer Health Educator
    • Dr. Heather Storer, Assistant Professor of Social Work
    • Dr. Red Tremmel, Administrative Assistant Professor, Multicultural Affairs
  • Graduate Student Sexual Misconduct Prevention: Focusing on issues impacting graduate students; programs and approaches to prevention of sexual misconduct; issues facing student of color and LGBTQ+ identifying students; and dating/domestic violence.
    • Joey Bishop, Interim Superintendent, Tulane University Police Department
    • Dr. Gretchen Clum, Associate Professor, Global Community Health & Behavioral Science
    • Nick Fears, ('19), PhD Candidate Psychology, President, Graduate and Professional Student Association, Data Analyst for 2017 Sexual Misconduct Climate Survey
    • Becki Kondkar, Professor of Practice of Law
    • Dr. Scott Tims, Assistant Vice President for Campus Health Services
    • Laura Wolford, Assistant Director of the Newcomb College Institute and Director of the Newcomb Research Center
  • Faculty Sexual Harassment Prevention: Focusing on issues of faculty-on-faculty harassment; faculty-on-student harassment; policies and best practices; and sexual harassment education.
    • Howard Boyd, Associate General Counsel
    • Dr. Michael Cunningham, Professor of Psychology and Africana Studies and Associate Provost
    • Dr. Dennis Kehoe, Professor of Classical Studies
    • Dr. Sally Kenney, Executive Director of the Newcomb College Institute and Professor of Political Science
    • Dr. Sarah Lindsey, Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
    • Dr. Ana Lopez, Professor of Communications, School of Liberal Arts and Associate Provost
    • Margaret Martin, Law Student, Member of the Executive Board of the Public Interest Law Foundation, Women in Law Society and Graduate Assistant, Newcomb College Institute
    • Dr. Elisabeth McMahon, Associate Professor of History and Africana Studies, School of Liberal Arts
    • Meredith Smith, Assistant Provost for Title IX and Clery Compliance
    • Tania Tetlow, Senior Vice President and Chief of Staff and Felder-Fayard Professor of Law
    • Erica Woodley, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs, Case Management & Conduct
  • Research & Assessment: Focusing on programmatic measurable outcomes; advancing research on the prevention of sexual misconduct; defining success; and developing a research plan for Tulane.
    • Dr. Alyssa Lederer, Assistant Professor for Global Community Health & Behavioral Science, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine
    • Dr. Jessica Shedd, Assistant Provost for Assessment & Institutional Research